Prof. Phoebus Madianos

The contribution of periodontal surgery to orthodontic treatment

One of the fundamental bases for predictable and successful orthodontic therapy is periodontal health. The collaboration of the orthodontist with the periodontist ensures the establishment of healthy periodontal tissues prior to commencing orthodontic treatment. Moreover, plastic periodontal surgical procedures can address clinical problems that arise before, during and after orthodontic treatment. These procedures include frenectomy, impacted tooth exposure to enable placement of orthodontic appliances, as well as crown-lengthening related to gingival hyperplasia. Finally, an important contribution of plastic periodontal surgery to orthodontic treatment is the management of soft tissue defects. This management can work preventively at the beginning of the treatment or at the end, restoring possible mucogingival problems that may arise following orthodontic treatment.

Short Curriculum Vitae

Dr. Phoebus Madianos is Professor and Chair of the Dep. Of Periodontology at the School of Dentistry, National and Kapodistrian University of Athens. He has been the former Dean of the School of Dentistry and he is currently the Director of the Graduate Program in Periodontology and of the Osseointegrated Implant Unit.

He has been President of the European Federation of Periodontology (EFP, 2015), as well as Chair of the Scientific Affairs Committee of EFP (2016-2022) and of the organizing committee of EuroPerio10 congress (2022).

He has published over 80 scientific papers in international journals, which have received over 7500 citations, in the fields of periodontal pathogenesis, periodontal medicine, perio-orthodontics and Implantology.

He has received international awards for his research activity, including the “Hans-R. Mülhemann Research Prize” from the Swiss Society of Periodontology in 1997, the “Anthony A. Rizzo Award” from the International Association for Dental Research in 2004, and the “Clinical Research Award” from the American Academy of Periodontology in 2006.